E-TECH Skaters Impressive in Timaru

Nicole Begg X-TECH MPC International & Samantha Michael Senior Ladies, Mark McDonald Intermediate men, Brett McCormack Masters men and Emily Van der Heyden, Junior Girls along with Analiese Le Roy & Dahna Penty X-TECH WHEELZ were dominate at the championships.

Analiesse 13 year old this year making big inroads will represent N.Z. at Junior Oceania champs in Australia

The South Canterbury open Bank track Championships were held on a track shortly to be ripped up to make way for a new International specification 200 meter track, the earthquake effected track has seen better days, but still provided for some great racing on a track where the first two winners of the Tour of Timaru were Bill Begg Timaru & John Fry England, with the famous American Bobby Kaiser also taking out the event with USA team mate Curt Labeda, with Australians Mark Whitby, Tony Keefe & Darryl Neucome also past winners.

Some good performances were seen at the South Canterbury Open Bank Track championships, Nicole Begg won the open combined Points race, from 3 times World Junior Team member/ Mark McDonald Christchurch, Smantha Michael Palmerston North & Brett McCormack Dunedin. Nicole was in Devastating form winning all of the 10 sprints, after being challenged in them all by McDonald, after a tough Saturday Bike race Begg showed she is in good frorm, by finishing very strongly. Begg took out the other senuior ladies titles from Samantha Michael Palmerston North & Martie Kuepper South Canterbury.

The showdown in the Junior Girls did not happen in the fight for the 1st place, Emily Van der Heyden South Canterbury was a class above the others, she along with Mark McDonald Christchurch were the only two N.Z. representatives to do a better time in the 2 lap Time trial 334 meters, on a slower track than at the “Tour of Timaru”. The margin was major with Emily at 2.2 secs sec ahead off Dahna Penty who was 2nd & 2.8 sec on Analiese Le Roy 3rd , 4.56 sec Ruby Ellis Christchurch 4th While Van der Heyden completely dominated, Annalise Le Roy a first year Junior was 2nd in both the 1,000 meters & the 4 lap event against opponents that last season could easily beat her.

Mark McDonald put in a very good performance to take 1.14 sec of his best 2 lap time from the Tour.Also a good performance racing the Senior ladies & Masters men in the 2 lap final, he had a victory over Nicole Begg.

Otago Maters skater Brett McCorack accounted for Temuka’s Michael Clarkson, while N.Z. Primary Girls sprint champion Nicole Grigg Christchurch in the Girls & Keaton Swindells Dunedin in the boys dominated there grades, Olivia Hutton Christchurch defeated Sophie Lowen, along with Boudine Brown & Leah McDonald While Matthew Grigg Christchurch, was to good for Mark McCormack Dunedin & the Timaru pair Jan Kuepper & Nick frame South Canterbury, In the Junior boys Jonathan Swindells from Dunedin won from Guy McDonald & Liam Kenter.Timaru Scott Hall & Eden Presten were the top Tiny Tots & Emma Miron won the Novice.

Great weather & a great days racing, with all the Christchurch top skaters down for the event, with 1 minutes silence observed.by the 48 competitors, Officials, Parents & the Public in respect of the Christchurch Eathquake victims.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s